OCTOBER 27, 2020

Mayor Masick called the meeting to order at 4:30 p.m.

C.A.O. Jim Leidgen conducted the roll call.  A quorum of the Commission was present.

Mary Masick, Mayor
Ben Jackson, Commissioner
Earl Hubbuch, Commissioner
Lois Wagner, Commissioner

Others Present:
John Singler, City Attorney
Chris Crumpton, City Engineer
Mike Rhodes, City Treasurer

The pledge of allegiance was led by Mayor Masick.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, body temperatures were taken of each guest.
James Wright of 9001 Hurstwood Court, addressed the Commission regarding the clearing of debris from that address.


The October 13, 2020 minutes were presented for approval. After a few corrections, Commissioner Hubbuch made a motion for approval of the minutes as amended and his motion was and was seconded by Commissioner Jackson. Motion carried unanimously. 


Mayor Masick had no report but did have inquires on the ServiceRequest/Call Log for the City of Hurstbourne.  C. A. O. Jim Leidgen replied that the cases listed were closed and going forward the list will be reviewed by the staff.

 PUBLIC WORKS—Commissioner Hubbuch
Commissioner Hubbuch mentioned the passing of the former City Attorney Foster Haunz. He also reported the electricity has not been restored at the Oxmoor Woods and South Lyndon entrance and depending on the weather, it could be another week or so before completion.  He added that Jean Henry, from Lawrence and Associates, has agreed to power wash the back side of the wall but is awaiting the installation of the electricity.

City Engineer Chris Crumpton reported that the area running behind the green wall has been cleared of foliage and debris. He also stated that the stream clearing project should be completed in two to three weeks. Mr. Leidgen added that the South Lyndon wrought iron project is underway and other City entrances are being reviewed for updating. He added the gold paint for the lettering has arrived and that was due to the efforts of Commissioner Wagner. Commissioner Hubbuch reported the Fall tree plantings will be placed and the 2020 Christmas decorations have been ordered.

City Engineer Chris Crumpton reported that street stripping will soon be completed. Also, the repair area at the intersection of Leighton Circle and Linn Station will be finished in the next three weeks and Hall Paving will offer a discount on the job.

Commissioner Jackson reiterated that the Finance Committee approved the proposal that $500,000 of the City’s general funds will be invested in the Kentucky League of City Pool Investment. Commissioner Leavell stated that the investments will begin in three to four weeks with $50,000being invested at a time.

 PUBLIC SAFETY – Commissioner Leavell
Commissioner Leavell reported on behalf of the special Public Safety Committee. He also distributed an information highlighting the benefits of entering into an agreement with the Graymoor-Devondale Police Department for police services. This would replace Kentuckiana Law Enforcement (KLE) that uses “off duty” LMPD and Jefferson County Sheriff Officers.

He stated that two-thirds of their police cars are marked, their accountability is intense using a GPS system on their cars, their patrol will include 1 hour and 20 minutes per eight hours and all officers have body cameras. In addition, the officers are all retired from the Louisville Metro Police Department and bring experience.  Commissioner Jackson stated the residents will need to be educated about the new police force.  He added this police policy will be a great enhancement to the City. C. A. O. Jim Leidgen added the police will help enforce the City’s ordinances and work in conjunction with Code Enforcement Officer George Stewart.

After additional discussion, Commissioner Leavell made a motion to enter into a local agreement with Graymoor-Devondale. His motion was seconded by Commissioner Jackson. Motion carried unanimously. Since the contract with Graymoor-Devondale will begin on November 1, 2020, Mayor Masick recommended the residents be informed immediately with a letter from the City in addition to other forms of communication making them aware of the change.

Commissioner Jackson recommended that stop signs be placed at the intersection of Seaton Springs and Denington.  Since stripping is occurring in the City due to new paving, he suggested that the stop bars be painted now prior to the signs being placed. Mayor Masick recommended that stop bars be placed approaching the stop sign to make the residents aware of the new signs. Commissioner Jackson made a motion to make Seaton Springs and Denington a four-way stop. His motion was seconded by Commissioner Hubbuch. Motion carried unanimously.

Commissioner Wagner reported she will discuss the Sign Ordinance at the next Commissioner’s meeting.

ATTORNEY’S REPORT – Attorney John Singler
No report.

No report.

TREASURER’S REPORT – Treasurer Mike Rhodes
City Treasurer Rhodes reported the expenses for Covid-19 have been filed with the CARES Act and he will follow the progress of the filing. Commissioner Jackson complimented Mr. Rhodes for having the September 2020 financials at the October meeting. In addition, Mr. Jackson stated he had questions on the statements and the answers were promptly answered the next morning prior to the Commissioner’s meeting.

Mr. Leidgen reported that the City’s irrigation system is being winterized and will be turned off until

Spring 2021.  He stated the Hurstbourne-Herald will be out early December and asked the Commission for any additional ideas. The Committee meeting regarding the homeless situation was productive and a letter will be sent to the business owners which they in turn can distribute to people who have unlawfully congregated. Also, a resource guide will be provided explaining services available to them.

With regards to the sound barrier wall along I-64, an email was sent to the State of Kentucky for permission to place a “No Trespassing” sign there.

At 6:21 p.m. Commissioner Jackson made a motion to adjourn. Seconded by Commissioner Hubbuch. Motion carried unanimously.


_______________________________________                        __________________________________

Mayor Mary Masick                                                                        James E. Leidgen, City Clerk